top of page
Search

3 things I learnt (April 19)

Do you ever find yourself horribly confused when trying to understand what people from other countries mean when they are speaking about their currency?


1. In North America, dollars can also be referred to as 'bucks'. This week I finally figured out that 'quid' refers to a British pound (not Quidditch, as my mind had started to wander towards!), and I also learnt that in Ireland, they say 'squid' in slang! What other currency slang are you aware of?


2. The Irish also have their own form of bagpipes, called Uilleann Pipes. These differ from the more commonly known Scottish bagpipes because they are typically played indoors, while seated, and they have a quieter and softer sound.


3. I grew up hearing about poison ivy, which isn't quite as horrible as the name sounds - it primarily causes some really bad rashes. But this week I learnt that there are some extremely dangerous plants out there with deceivingly gentle names. You can check out a list of them here!


'til next week!

Skye

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page